The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Question about "MIDI"
Donny Hinson

Glen Burnie, Md. U.S.A.
Post  Posted 20 Jan 2001 11:42 am    

Well guys, usually I'm on here answering questions. But, this is a field I have no experience in. Another thread on "midi music" has made me do some searching around on the web for midi files. And my question is this..."Why do they all sound so bad?"

I guess I shouldn't say bad...maybe a better choice of adjectives would be "simple", "elementary", or "cheap-sounding". It's just that every site I go to seems to sound the same. You know, like they were made in 5 minutes with a $59 Cascio "mini-keyboard". I'm not trying to be "smart", or sarcastic here, either. I honestly want to know if this is the best midi can be? Or is it that the people who are making these available aren't spending a lot of time to refine and fill out the selections with additional harmonies, and some different "voices" once in awhile?

For the most part, they really aren't very impressive at all. Is this the best computers can do?

[This message was edited by Donny Hinson on 20 January 2001 at 11:47 AM.]

Earnest Bovine

Los Angeles CA USA
Post  Posted 20 Jan 2001 12:33 pm    

Are you using a $59 Cascio "mini-keyboard" to play the MIDI files?

Marco Schouten

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Post  Posted 20 Jan 2001 1:40 pm    

Donny,

it depends on the device you use to play the files, and the arrangements, which can be from simple to complex.
I use a Soundblaster AWE 64 gold in my computer to play back midi files, and indeed some sound very simple, while other files sound like a live orchestra.

------------------
Steelin' Greetings
Marco Schouten
Sho-Bud Pro III Custom

Donny Hinson

Glen Burnie, Md. U.S.A.
Post  Posted 20 Jan 2001 1:52 pm