The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Help me with my tone!
Neil

Balitmore Md.
Post  Posted 19 Jan 2001 11:12 pm    

I'vc got a Sierra S-10 (artist) pedal steel and a Line 6 amplifier. I have been getting depressed about making these work together. The tone always seems flat and lifeless,I would love to get that "shiny" Pedal sound,but I am too poor to buy better equipment, and my virbrato seems fine. I tried tweaking up the treble,but that sounds too thin.Anybody have a suggestion on an effect, a trick or a pedal that I could use? Is it the equipment just limited? I have been playing for 3 years but now that I have to record something at a studio I am flipping out!

Jack Stoner

Kansas City, MO
Post  Posted 20 Jan 2001 3:10 am    

Your using an amp that is basically designed for guitar with the steel. In a good many cases these amps do not do well for steel.

With a limited budget it may be hard to come up with a good steel sound. Maybe you can trade that amp for a used steel guitar amp, such as a Nashville 400 or Session 400.

mtulbert

Plano, Texas 75023
Post  Posted 20 Jan 2001 6:06 am    

Neil,

If your amp had a midrange control, try reducing the midrange on your amp. Those frequencies are what produce the honk and make the steel sound flat. If you increase some of the bass and the highs and reduce the mids, you should "warm" up the sound of your guitar.

Best of Luck

Mark T.

Bob Hoffnar

Austin, Tx
Post  Posted 20 Jan 2001 9:09 am    

Most likely its not the amp or the steel. Find a pro steel player that you think has good tone and spend some time with him. I'm sure that you can get a nice sound out of your gear. New strings might help also.

If you had a little more info in your profile I could suggest people to get in touch with.

Bob

[This message was edited by Bob Hoffnar on 20 January 2001 at 09:17 AM.]

Donny Hinson

Glen Burnie, Md. U.S.A.
Post  Posted 20 Jan 2001 12:06 pm