The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Steel Amplifiers
Chuck Jacolucci

Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Post  Posted 14 Dec 2000 5:10 pm    

I'm a newbie on the steel and am totally unfamiliar with the many breeds of amps available except for what I've heard around the forum. What are the differences in the Session 400 and the Nashville 400? They seem to be a popular choice, but I havent had the opportunity to hear one.
Thanks

FRANK MARIANO

PENSACOLA FL
Post  Posted 15 Dec 2000 4:53 am    

Hey Chuck,I Have both a sesson & a nashville 400.The sesson is a larger cabinet and to me gives of a better tone, however I did have my nash. modified last month by John LeMay in Nebraska and it made a world of differance.They both have black widow speakers in them and are truly a standard in the steel world.If you can try them both out its just a matter of what tone you are looking for.To me the nash 400 is just a bit brighter & thinner in tone than the sesson.Keep picking Frank

Chuck Jacolucci

Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Post  Posted 15 Dec 2000 6:37 am    

Does either amp have reverb or tremolo, and are these a desirable feature for a steel?
Are they solid state or tube?

Bill Crook

Goodlettsville, TN , Spending my kid's inheritance
Post  Posted 15 Dec 2000 7:06 am    

Chuck.....

My Sessons 400 has both "reverb" and "Tremolo"

My "Nashville 400" dosen't have "tremolo" on tho.

All things considered, I really like the Sessons 400 better. (Eventho, it's a bit more weight)

They are both solid state amps. NO tubes whatsoever !!

Chuck Jacolucci

Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Post  Posted 15 Dec 2000 5:24 pm    

Thanks for the info, fellas. Looks like I'll be shopping for the Sessions 400. Anyone got any good sales going on?

Steve Feldman

Central MA USA
Post  Posted 15 Dec 2000 5:46 pm