The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Peavey Pro-Fex II vs Tube-Fex
Al Gershen

Grants Pass, OR, USA * R.I.P.
Post  Posted 15 Oct 2000 8:05 pm    

Hi Group:

I've been using a Peavey Pro-Fex II for several years now and I've been very pleased with its reverb and delay sounds.

The Peavey Tube-Fex came out a few years ago and superceded the Pro-Fex II; and I believe that there are now other incarnations of these devises available from Peavey.

Can some of you who have used "both" the Pro-Fex II and the Tube-Fex provide a comparison of these devices both from features and sound qualities. Do you believe it pays to upgrade from the Pro-Fex II to a Tube-Fex? Do the patches on the Pro-Fex II work on the Tube-Fex or do they have to be modified slightly?

I look forward to your observations on this subject.

------------------
Regards,
Al Gershen
Grants Pass, Oregon. USA
Fender 1000 (1957),
Fender PS 210 (1972) &
Gibson Electraharp EH-820
(1962)
Pictures of PS 210 &
EH-820 at http://www.rvi.net/~aldg

[This message was edited by Al Gershen on 15 October 2000 at 09:07 PM.]

Jack Stoner

Kansas City, MO
Post  Posted 17 Oct 2000 12:26 pm    

Al, I had a Profex II and now have a Transtube Fex (the solid state version). My personal take is the Transtube Fex is what the Profex II should have been. I know there are a lot of Profex II's in use, but I hated the one I had and fought it for a year and could never get the sound I wanted. I got the Transtube Fex and within an hour of hooking it up I had it programmed.

The Tubefex model is OK if you're into tubes however I see posts about it being noisier than the Transtube Fex.

Al Gershen

Grants Pass, OR, USA * R.I.P.
Post  Posted 17 Oct 2000 7:23 pm    

Hi Jack Stoner:

> "...have a Transtube Fex (the solid state version)."