The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Session 500 goes POP after shut-down
Dave Kocher

MA, USA
Post  Posted 24 Apr 2000 3:05 pm    

I don't know if this is a common problem or not, but I'm posting this on the chance someone else is experiencing the same problem.
Some time ago I purchased my first amplifier, a Session 500, Mk. IV. I like the amplifier, but about ten seconds after switching it off, a very loud POP came from the speaker. Over time, the POP seemed to become worse, to the point where I was concerned that the speaker itself might be damaged. This is symptomatic of instability in feedback amplifiers that sometimes occurs if things are not carefully controlled in the design for the entire range of supply voltages.
The problem persisted when I isolated the output amplifier by inserting a plug in the "pwr. amp in" jack. I studied the circuit (obtainable from Peavey) of the 400BH amplifier module and noticed the designers had selected bleeder resistors to discharge the +52 volt supply faster than the -52 volt supply, and reasoned that was done to avoid instability during power-down. When I added another resistor across the positive supply bleeder, the POP would not occur. I checked the filter capacitors and they were both within specification.
Not wanting to decrease the positive bleeder resistance permanently, I looked further, and found that by replacing the quad op-amp chip (TL074) on the 400BH module board, the POP was eliminated. The original chip was made by TI, while the replacement was made by Motorola and obtained from a local ACTIVE Electronics store. Aside from the POP, the old chip worked perfectly. I have been using the amplifier for some time since this substitution, and it is working fine. Bear in mind that this is a sample of one, and the same substitution might not work is another instance of the same symptom.
-Dave Kocher

Mike Brown

Meridian, Mississippi USA
Post  Posted 25 Apr 2000 7:14 am