The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Slightly different Dobro tuning..........
Jerry Hayes

Virginia Beach, Va.
Post  Posted 31 Jan 2001 5:18 pm    

I've been using a G6th tuning for my lap steel for a few years now, it's low to high B D E G B D. With just retuning the 1st string to E and the 3rd string to G# you get a nice usable E7th tuning. I had an acoustic gig a week or two back and we were playing some old standards so I put this tuning on my Dobro and it worked great. Since then I've been playing along with some Bluegrass friends and it's really helped out there to. You can eliminate quite a bit of bar movement by just that one string. Just take your 6th string off, move 5 to that position, move 4 to 5 and put an E string in the 4th position. I used a .030 string there. You won't have the low G but I can live without that for the added stuff. Also if you play pedal steel the bottom 3 strings now will be the exact same as the bottom 3 on your 10 string E9 neck!

------------------
Have a good 'un! JH U-12

[This message was edited by Jerry Hayes on 31 January 2001 at 05:20 PM.]

Ted Smith

Idaho - shot of Jeff Peterson, Ted and Smith Curry "Nothing but the taillights tour"
Post  Posted 31 Jan 2001 6:35 pm    

I usually don't get excited about tunings Jerry- I think I've heard everything in every direction since I was 5, but I am really hot on getting an E on a Dobro with the G tuning by going with a 7-string and putting either the G root on the outside with this tuning you're working with, or tuning the outside string to E and be able to catch the 6th out there, then left hand choke it to a 7th like a pedal effect. David Snow has one on order we're working on and I think it will really be slick. Stock spacing at the saddle and nearly stock at the nut. I'll work with your tuning when I get off late tonight, although I think it might cramp up licks I'm pat on now.

Ted

Ted Smith