The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Beginners Dobro Question
Ted Smith

Idaho - shot of Jeff Peterson, Ted and Smith Curry "Nothing but the taillights tour"
Post  Posted 15 Jan 2001 2:25 pm    

I need you guys to make a decision on this for me.

The Melobro Fiberglass idea started out as a possible low cost Resonator guitar, but it's monster sound and tone and the modifications, has taken it way over the top to competing with very high end guitars. So it's price is having to go up to have the cosmetics and very best tone we can possibly build into them. And we also are limiting production to only 20 customers per season.

This has been bothering me because Melobar has always had a goal of helping beginners get started. I've wanted a complete beginners package for some time, Paul Beard has been taking the inexpensive imports and putting better guts in them for some time, and I have been asking him to come up with a complete package to turn guys on to, but he doesn't deal with Mel Bay or some of the other Music Store suppliers.

I've been talking with the suppliers and Johnson has just made me an amazing offer.

See if you think this would fly:

A Johnson Square neck
Good tuning keys
modified saddle and nut
Quarterman Cone
Gig Bag case
Dunlop Dobro bar
Pro Piks Pat. finger picks
Melobar Fret Guide
Strap
Gig Bag Case
J. Davis Learn to Play Dobro Book & CD

As a package for $399

You guys know how busy we are and I don't want to put a tick of time into it unless there is a real need,

what do you think?

Ted

David Pennybaker

Conroe, TX USA
Post  Posted 15 Jan 2001 2:29 pm    

I think that'd be a real winner, Ted.

------------------
The Unofficial Photographer of The Wilkinsons

Aaron Schiff

Cedaredge, CO, USA
Post  Posted 15 Jan 2001 3:13 pm