The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Author Topic:  I Wonder What Shot Would Think
Mike Sweeney

Nashville,TN,USA
Post  Posted 22 Sep 2000 12:08 am    

Being a professional musician I try to keep an open mind about new ideas and trends. Also I try to find the things I like in music instead of focusing on what I don't like. But I refuse to be ashamed of my upbringing on a farm in Virginia,or playing country music of any form. I was born in 1960 and I remember when I was a small boy watching the Earnest Tubb show,the Porter Wagoner show,the Wilburn Bros.show and others long before there was cable or T.N.N. And as my family said it was the only time I sit still. I can still see Buddy Charleton playing that old Sho-Bud. If you want to call me a redneck go ahead,I worked out in the hot summer sun enough to have one. And that's nothing for me to be ashamed of. Now what do you all think Shot Jackson would say about people in the music community of Nashville telling us we should be ashamed of our roots and heritage? He would more than likely bust them in the mouth. I have to walk on eggshells when dealing with others heritages but I'm supposed to be ashamed of mine. Something is wrong with this picture. I reiterate I don't live in the past but I do remember it and treasure the memories and look for a bright future and as a musician I always try to improve and look for new things. But I'm tired of hearing and seeing people say that the new breed is better in every case and everything before was redneck. I will admit there are some talented people in the buisness now but there are some very lucky mediocre ones too. I'm done now. Mike Sweeney

BJ Bailey

Jackson Ms,Hinds
Post  Posted 22 Sep 2000 12:59 am