The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Copedent strategies: foot pedal vs knee lever
Alan Davidson

California, USA
Post  Posted 27 Feb 2024 9:22 pm    

I'm pretty new to PSG and am experimenting with my copedent. I'm wondering what the advantages and disadvantages are for assigning any particular bend to a knee lever vs a foot pedal? What factors do you take into consideration (other than things like not being able to play a LKL and LKR at the same time)?

At the moment, I've got a Fender 1000 that has one homemade knee lever (in addition to seven foot pedals). It's very easy to experiment with, which is what I'm doing. Down the road, I plan to order a custom made guitar, but first I want to figure out the pedal/knee lever arrangement and copedent I want. Thanks in advance for any tips.

BTW, I'm sure this question has been asked a bizzillion times and that there is most likely some writeup that someone could just point me to.

Ian Rae

Redditch, England
Post  Posted 28 Feb 2024 2:12 am    

Simply put, pedals are more positive and faster acting and they can take the strain of more pulls than a lever.
This is why historically the most-used changes have generally been on the floor.
I know that Fenders are a different animal, but there is a good reason why most setups have a lot in common.

Alan Davidson

California, USA
Post  Posted 29 Feb 2024 5:50 pm    

Thanks Ian, that makes sense. Do you see levers having any advantages at all over pedals?

BTW, I see that you play an Excel. I just ordered one yesterday, an 8-stringer.

Donny Hinson

Glen Burnie, Md. U.S.A.
Post  Posted 29 Feb 2024 6:00 pm