The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Good Second Lap Steel?
Donald Vitouski

New York, USA
Post  Posted 6 Feb 2024 11:15 am    

I’m a beginner player with a ‘54 Supro Comet playing rock music. I love the sound of the Comet! It has an edge to to it that suits me perfectly. Can someone explain what makes more expensive models better? I have been playing guitar for ages and know about the differences between grades and brands of those. I’m going to get a second lap steel and am ignorant about them. What could I expect from a more expensive Supro or from other grades and brands? Is there a good source for a comprehensive look at lap steels? What might be a good next one? The Magnatone Varsity looks great to me.

Joe A. Roberts

Seoul, South Korea
Post  Posted 6 Feb 2024 12:01 pm    

I don’t think you can necessarily expect “better” than a Supro.
IMHO Magnatone Varsities and Supro Comets sound better than most of those much more expensive Gibsons and Fender Champs, for instance. Especially for that kind of music. (Not that those instruments are no good or anything).
A 40s or early 50s Rickenbacker would be worth trying for an upgrade as these sometimes come up relatively cheap.
Magnatone G-70s are really cool and I regret not holding onto mine. They have a little longer scale length (24.5”).
Sometimes people want way too much for them but they are relatively inexpensive.

The plexi glass tuners on some of those earlier Magnatones sometimes break, an old Hawaiian player had to use a pair of pliers to tune his guitar! But seems like a lot of them hold up.

My two cents:
You don’t necessarily have to upgrade, having another cheap guitar (or guitars) around dedicated for another tuning to experiment with can be worthwhile.
If you play rock, open D or E, open G, maybe some 7th chord tuning, etc (also good for blues)
Theres so much interesting variety with those old Magnatones and Valco made instruments, and they sound and play great in my experience.