The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  David Murphy - traditional Irish music on pedal steel
Pete Finney

Nashville Tn.
Post  Posted 21 Jan 2024 7:37 am    

I want to put the word out about a cool new project that my Irish friend David Murphy has been working on. David is a great pedal-steel player (and multi-instrumentalist) from Cork who works in all kinds of genres – traditional country, rock, singer-songwriter etc.

He’s just done a really nice album of traditional Irish music adapted for pedal-steel, with a nice variety of other instrumentation and really nice arrangements from track-to-track. This is not the “jigs and reels” so many of us may associate with instrumental Irish music but slower airs and harp tunes, really pretty stuff perfectly suited to pedal-steel. I’ve been listening to it for a few months and really enjoy it - there are some incredibly beautiful moments throughout. If you enjoy the "ambient" music that a lot of steel players are starting to explore this should be right up your alley - there are some elements of that in the arrangements.

Here’s a link to the first track that’s just been released, the full album comes out in April:
https://song.space/6zzbap/song/2603325

There’s also a video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6RdUPenGkOs

It's available to stream on Spotify and Bandcamp as well.

David Murphy
Cuimhne Ghlinn: Explorations in Irish Music For Pedal Steel Guitar

Tucker Jackson

Portland, Oregon, USA
Post  Posted 21 Jan 2024 12:11 pm    

I've heard an advance copy of this album and all I can say is 'wow.' It's the real deal.

David Murphy can do anything, and he's just reminded us that pedal steel works in any genre when it's in the hands of a master.

And if that weren't enough, he's a helluva good human. Congrats on your accomplishment, David!

Chris Bauer

Nashville, TN USA
Post  Posted 21 Jan 2024 3:29 pm    

Gorgeous!

Jim Fogarty

Phila, Pa, USA
Post  Posted 21 Jan 2024 8:27 pm