The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Advice about choosing a 'forever' guitar
Allan Haley

British Columbia, Canada
Post  Posted 17 Jan 2024 7:47 am    

Hi fellow steelers,
I've been playing for 10 years. Love it despite my limited time and ability.
I started on a Carter Starter, then an MSA Classic. Sold them both and got Fred Justice to build me an S-10 Pro. I've been playing that since 2016. Great guitar, but I would prefer an SD size.

If I sell some stuff, I can just about afford a Mullen G2. Also thinking about a Justice "The Judge".
Any advice on what would be a good choice for a 'forever' guitar?
I'm not pro, but I do gig twice a month locally.
Thanks,
Allan

Fred Treece

California, USA
Post  Posted 17 Jan 2024 9:01 am    

You never know until you play it.

I bought a brand new Williams SD-12 three years ago with the intention of it being my bff, and got lucky. I think as long as you play to the instrument’s strengths, plug it in to a good amp and dial in your tone, you have a shot. No matter whose name is on the label, because every builder is pretty good. The main thing you have to decide is cost of course, then design. There is a lot of innovation going on now, and the decision to lean more classic (Emmons, Mullen) or more modern (Sierra, Excel) is a big one.

Jerry Overstreet

Louisville Ky
Post  Posted 17 Jan 2024 9:10 am    

Forever is a long time. Not too many of us keep the same guitar forever but:

I can't give you advice only my opinion. Having played well over a dozen guitars in over 40 years of playing, I have found Mullen and Zum guitars to be superior in many ways.

My favorite is Mullen because they are so easy to work on, they feel and play so nice and have a wonderful sound. The design and build is such that if maintained properly it will last you a lifetime or forever.

I like the ZumSteel too, but they are no longer being built so for a new guitar, my choice is Mullen.

Ross Shafer