The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Anyone use a mini amp to play in an acoustic jam
John French

Louisiana, USA
Post  Posted 13 Dec 2023 6:51 am    

I am a very new PSG player. I am a dobro player by trade. I play in a lot of acoustic jams and I have been asked to play my pedal steel in some of those jams. I would really like to do this because most of the jams are two or three hours in length which gives me a lot of time playing with other people. The problem is the amplification and my guitar overpowering the other instruments. One solution I have considered is using a mini amp like the NUX or Blackstar. Has anyone else participated in an acoustic jam and if you how did you handle your amplification?

Bobby D. Jones

West Virginia, USA
Post  Posted 13 Dec 2023 9:32 am    

I am from bluegrass roots. When I get together with old friends and family I use my regular amp.
What I have found best in an acoustic setting, Aim you amp at yourself and up close. Not out at the other players, Then use your amp volume and the volume pedal to keep steel at same lever as the acoustic pieces of the group.

Ask other member of group about your fit in the mix also.

James Holland

Alabama, USA
Post  Posted 13 Dec 2023 9:38 am    

Ive used a Micro Cube successfully. Pretty amazing little amps.

Brett Day

Pickens, SC
Post  Posted 13 Dec 2023 11:15 am