The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Open E tunings/ tabs for 6 string lap steel
Robin Moore

Colorado, USA
Post  Posted 15 May 2023 11:33 am    

Yup I’m still a newbie. I am looking for tab sheets on any Open E tunings. I just received my lap steel back from 2 years with my son in law and much got ruined and just had it repaired. The saddle bridge was severely messed up, now repaired again. New strings, but tuned to Open E. I love the sound, tone where it’s at, but I am trying to remember now, after two years, where / how to specifically locate songs to play in open E tuning. In the tabs for non pedal, Seems not much luck searching that way. What’s a better way to search, I enjoy the older CW music. Any help possible would be much appreciated, I guess I am not ready to back to C6 yet. Thank you in advance… pardon if this is the wrong place to post this question.

Joe A. Roberts

Seoul, South Korea
Post  Posted 15 May 2023 4:12 pm    

My advice would be to seek out open D tabs which should be more common.
You can use those D tabs with E tuning, as open E, relative to itself, is the same intervallically as open D, except that it is pitched a step higher.
The only thing you would have to do is if you are playing with others or playing over a backing track, is consider that what your playing sounds a step higher than written.
So if it says you’re playing a G chord, you’re actually playing and A chord, etc…

David Venzke

SE Michigan, USA
Post  Posted 15 May 2023 5:26 pm    

I recently discovered that I have an extra copy of this book that I don't need (Complete Steel Guitar Method by Roger Filiberto):