The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Volume pedal question?
Tommy Auldridge

Maryland, USA
Post  Posted 21 Mar 2023 8:27 am    

I have a volume pedal that has a second pot in it, with a knob on the side. Can someone please tell me what that is for? And, what does it do. I think I read something about Weldon Myrick having one like that. I'm in the process of fixing a few old volume pedals, so I'll have at least one spare. I've discovered that I'm not very good at soldering. Thanks for any advice. Tommy.....

Dave Grafe

Hudson River Valley NY
Post  Posted 21 Mar 2023 8:44 am    

If there is a capacitor connected to ground from the pot on the inside of the pedal it is a tone control.

If it's connected directly to the other pot it may be a trim pedal to optimize a certain part of the pedal's travel.

Can't think of anything else it could be

As for soldering skills, use a 50-70 watt pencil tip soldering iron, first attach and heat the parts together, then flow solder onto the heated surfaces and not the pencil, and lastly hold them still until the solder cools. If it's not shiny after it cools something moved early and it's likely to fail, so heat it up and try again.
Patience matters (says the guy who's dog hid under the bed yesterday because of all the cussing involved in installing an effects loop in my Webb and a new pickup switch on my Fessy) and like everything else worth doing it gets better with practice, provided you're doing it right in the first place

Tommy Auldridge

Maryland, USA
Post  Posted 21 Mar 2023 9:24 am     Volume pedal question?