The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Beginner steel guitars around/shipped to New England
Jayanth Uppaluri

Massachusetts, USA
Post  Posted 17 Mar 2023 11:24 am    

Hey Steel Guitar Forum!

I'm a somewhat experienced musician (drums and bass guitar, with some piano and guitar too) who has caught the pedal steel bug recently. As such, I'm looking for my first pedal steel guitar.

I am a college kid, which limits my budget somewhat... I'm really looking for something in the $800-$1700 range. I know this forum doesn't like Carter Starters, but something like that would be perfect for me, as someone who doesn't really know the instrument and may not end up continuing it. If there's someone with a spare used Carter Starter (or a used StageOne/Justice/Mullen Discovery/GFI starter) who is in New England (I split time between Massachusetts and New Hampshire) or willing to ship to New England within that price range. I'm also looking at new Growlers or new Justices (I'd look at a StageOne or Encore, but they are sold out until next year and I'd rather not wait that long!). Or if y'all have any other suggestions, I'd love to hear them!

Know this probably isn't going anywhere, but it doesn't hurt to ask in case any of you good folks have spare pedal steels that you aren't using... thanks again!

P.S: For those who have made it to the bottom of the post, any drummers who also play pedal steel? Does the hand/foot coordination translate at all?

scott murray

Asheville, NC
Post  Posted 17 Mar 2023 2:05 pm    

there's a Sho-Bud Maverick, a Fender 400, and the Growlers currently listed on the first page of the Steels For Sale section, all within your price range. other affordable and/or student models will pop up from time to time and most sellers will ship. best of luck

Richard Sinkler

aka: Rusty Strings -- Missoula, Montana
Post  Posted 17 Mar 2023 4:27 pm