The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Playing with piano players
Bill Duncan

Lenoir, North Carolina, USA
Post  Posted 18 Dec 2022 5:23 am    

I play mostly Gospel music and have had the opportunity to play with some very talented piano players. The thing I have noticed about most of them is the self taught are almost always the best to play with. It is my experience that even many very talented piano players are rarely taught to play back-up or lead-swap. They usually tend to always bang out the lead and never use back-up rhythm or know to look for holes to insert runs or counter-point. Then there is the key thing. They always want to change keys to suit themselves and their playing because they have problems with certain keys.

I do like piano/keyboard though. But, their teachers are letting them down...I think.

Robert Murphy

West Virginia
Post  Posted 18 Dec 2022 6:24 am    

Same here. Very talented but not for ensemble work. Since the piano is the king of instruments it can do it all, all the time. But the steel guitar can do that too so there's where the arrangement comes in. That's the next level if you will and it can work well but doesn't come naturally for the musicians.

Charlie Hansen

Halifax, NS Canada and Various Southern Towns.
Post  Posted 18 Dec 2022 6:57 am    

I was working on a session one time and had a piano player that played all over everything. I made him put one hand in his back pocket and play that way.
A Touch Of Texas CIOE FM 97.5 Sackville, NS, Canada,
on the web at cioe975.ca.

Skip Edwards

LA,CA
Post  Posted 18 Dec 2022 7:46 am    

I think you guys have been playing with the wrong piano players...

Frank Freniere

The First Coast
Post  Posted 18 Dec 2022 7:57 am