The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Push/Pull knee lever doesn't change pitch
Daniel Paugh

Oklahoma, USA
Post  Posted 30 Nov 2022 9:17 am    

Hi y'all, I'm at my wits end trying to figure this out. I'll get some pictures up as well, but on my push/pull PSG, my LKR does not lower the pitch of my high e string at all. I've tried putting on new strings and I've adjusted the rods so that there's more than enough travel in the lever, the low e string lowers as it should and my LKL raises both my e strings as it should.

Please pardon my ignorance of the terminology, I'm just starting out, but I've noticed that although it seems like everything is moving from underneath the body, when I look at the peg where the ball-end of my string is attached, it doesn't appear to move up or down like the other strings do when their respective levers are pressed. I'm hoping that piece of information may be able to narrow down what's going on and what I could try to fix it. Any suggestions?

Thanks everyone

Lee Baucum

McAllen, Texas (Extreme South) The Final Frontier
Post  Posted 1 Dec 2022 8:44 am    

I'm going to bump this up, in the hopes that one of our pedal steel guitar mechanics can help.

It appears that a bell-crank has slipped. I see one that is leaning over at an angle.

~Lee

Jon Light

Saugerties, NY
Post  Posted 1 Dec 2022 9:00 am    

Lee Baucum wrote:

It appears that a bell-crank has slipped. I see one that is leaning over at an angle.

~Lee

With that very limited photo, it appears to me that that is the LKL raise and I'm thinking that if the lever were not fallen-over, that crank would be sitting upright.
It feels futile trying to troubleshoot when so little effort is given by providing some photos.

I know nothing of this guitar.
On an Emmons push pull, there needs to be enough slack in the raise to allow the movement of the lower. If the lower pulls the raise collar into its bellcrank, it will not lower any more.