The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Tips on where to buy my first pedal steel guitar (~$1,500)
Jordan Hargreaves

Oregon, USA
Post  Posted 18 Nov 2022 2:57 pm    

Howdy!

I'm new to the pedal steel guitar world and am looking for some tips on where to buy my first pedal steel guitar.

It seems like I should stay away from the Carter Start and Maverick, and instead lean toward something that has 3 pedals and 4 knee levers.

I am curious if there are specific pedal steel guitars for around $1,500 that y'all would suggest?

I'm leaning toward a Stage One or Justice Steel Guitar, but those are just recently mentioned brands that offer a pedal steel around my price range.

Do y'all have any tips for the best way to find and buy a pedal steel? I live in Portland, Oregon.

Thanks!

Jimmie Hudson

North Carolina, USA
Post  Posted 18 Nov 2022 3:43 pm     Growler

Try Growler 10 string 3 & 4 $1395.00
growlersteelguitars.com

K Maul

Hadley, NY/Hobe Sound, FL
Post  Posted 18 Nov 2022 4:38 pm    

Not many stores have pedal steels on the showroom floor. They ARE mostly machines so it’s kind of like buying a lawnmower. A melodic lawnmower, though. Difficult to test drive one and even if you could it is hard to tell what’s good when you have no experience. Going by reputation is almost all you can do anymore. For fine workmanship, good design and great price it’s hard to beat a Justice S-10.
Kevin Maul: Airline, Beard, Clinesmith, Decophonic, Evans, Excel, Fender, Fluger, Gibson, Hilton, Ibanez, Justice, K+K, Live Strings, MOYO, National, Oahu, Peterson, Quilter, Rickenbacher, Sho~Bud, Supro, TC, Ultimate, VHT, Williams, X-otic, Yamaha, ZKing.

Bill McCloskey

Nanuet, NY
Post  Posted 18 Nov 2022 5:39 pm