60%  [ 58 ]
No I cannot sing and play PSG at the same time
30%
 30%  [ 29 ]
No I don't sing at all
9%
 9%  [ 9 ]
Total Votes : 96

Author Topic:  Can you sing while playing PSG?
Fred Rogan

Birmingham, AL USA
Post  Posted 26 Oct 2022 6:36 am    

I am not coordinated enough to sing while playing pedal steel and it seems I don't see many other steel players singing while playing so just wondering.

Harrison Dole

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Post  Posted 26 Oct 2022 8:23 am    

i can sing and play while playing other instruments, but psg just has a bit too much going on for me. it could be that i'm fairly new to the instrument or it may be something i never quite get down. hard to say, but at the moment i can't.

Fred Rogan

Birmingham, AL USA
Post  Posted 26 Oct 2022 8:35 am    

Same with me Harrison in that I can sing and play guitar at the same time.
About 10 years ago I was at a steel guitar event sponsored by the late Steel Guitars of Nashville. One of the featured pedal steel players at that event also sang lead. Wish I could remember his name.

Tommy Mc

Middlesex VT
Post  Posted 26 Oct 2022 8:52 am    

When I play guitar and sing, I use the instrument as a reference to keep my voice on pitch. Since the pedal steel doesn't have fixed frets, I lose my reference. I find it hard to keep both my voice and steel properly intonated.

Gil James

Louisiana, USA
Post  Posted 26 Oct 2022 10:28 am     Can I sing while playing?

No. And it befuddles me. I have sang while playing guitar for years in a Gospel group and solo, without even thinking about it. But when I introduced the steel to our music, I have to let someone else sing if I am playing on the Carter. Tommy makes a good point which I haven't considered, but I think it has more to do with missing the rhythm in the strumming for me. I've only seen a few guys on here that do sing while playing,Pete Nichols being one.

Brooks Montgomery

Idaho, USA
Post  Posted 26 Oct 2022 10:52 am