The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Struggling to make decent quality sounds
Jake Bopp

Tallahassee, FL
Post  Posted 8 Sep 2022 5:51 pm    

If you look at my induction date to the forum, you'll see I've been around a little while. I mostly came here for the buy/sell/trade game, but in time learned to love the instrument. I didn't even care for country until maybe five years ago? I'm predominately a metal/rock guitar player ( Laughing Laughing )

I've had several steels now, getting into it, getting discouraged, selling stuff off, etc. I've been repeating this cycle for the last couple years. Steel is nearly impossible to learn for me, without some sort of musical backing. I'm not good at it, so I'm very shy about playing with anyone. I know the instrument itself very well, know how it functions, the sum of the parts making the total working steel. I understand it. The major roadblock in my psyche here is that hardly anything I play sounds quite -right- to my ears. The steel is perfectly in tune, E9th, but the chords always sound somewhat off. I can just loop a guitar chord, and follow it with steel, and it's always perceptibly off. Is it just my hands? I've watched it on an accurate tuner, the tuner shows perfectly in tune.

Am I just overthinking it? I desperately would like to progress at this instrument, I think I have fair fundamental understanding of it (but the musical background of a metal guitarist... so none at all Sad ) My usual go to of just banging my head into something until it sounds good isn't working for me. What do I do? If I could find a local 1 to 1 instructor, that'd probably get through to me, but so far online lessons just leave me with chops that I can't apply because I don't really understand the application.

Please help!

Thanks, Jake

Donny Hinson

Glen Burnie, Md. U.S.A.
Post  Posted 8 Sep 2022 6:24 pm