The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  amp for dobro
David Cook

Florida, USA
Post  Posted 28 Aug 2022 12:20 pm    

I have d dobro with a KRIVO pickup.
I think it is a magnetic pickup
Any suggestions for an amp to use on stage?

Thanks

Howard Parker

Maryland
Post  Posted 28 Aug 2022 12:44 pm    

I'm a fan (and user) of the Fishman "Loudbox" family of acoustic amps.

I have no personal experience with your pickup of choice. I am using a Fishman Nashville pickup/Aura based system.

YMMV

Cheers

hp

Larry Hobson

Valley Grande (Selma) Al USA
Post  Posted 28 Aug 2022 6:03 pm     Amp for dobro

Ditto to what Howard wrote.

Paddy Long

Christchurch, New Zealand
Post  Posted 28 Aug 2022 7:27 pm    

As Howard says - Fishman Loudbox -- I have the 100W version and it does the job admirably !
Telonics, Peterson, Steelers Choice, Benado, Lexicon, Red Dirt Cases.

Mark Eaton

Sonoma County in The Great State Of Northern California
Post  Posted 29 Aug 2022 10:47 am    

You can’t go wrong with a Fishman.

I have a no longer made Carvin acoustic amp which is very good.

And there are more acoustic amps out there than ever before. Check out the link below, a good review article. Keep scrolling down when you get there, individual reviews of each amp in the article plus demo videos to give one an idea of the features.

The Krivo is indeed a magnetic pickup. Very good quality. But without tweaking it still sounds slightly lap steelish to me on its own when used with a dobro. The good thing is that the typical audience member won’t know the difference.

I know a few guys have sunk additional dough into their Krivo equipped dobro with preamp “sound shaping” units from Audio Sprockets and Grace before going into an amp or to a soundboard.

https://www.guitarlobby.com/best-acoustic-guitar-amps/

Josh Yenne

Sonoma California
Post  Posted 29 Oct 2022 11:52 pm