The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Old ShoBud D10 steel guitar info
Jim Trantham

Wyoming, USA
Post  Posted 20 Jul 2022 9:36 pm    

]

Can anyone tell me what I have here. It is a ShoBud D10, green body. The only serial number I can find is 117464. Can you tell me what year etc. I won it in an auction for $1250. I’m a beginner steel player and don’t know what I have. Any info would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you, Jim Trantham

Bob Muller

Oregon, USA
Post  Posted 20 Jul 2022 10:42 pm    

Looks to be an early 60's Permanent D-10. Probably not the original color and has very interesting pickups. Does not have string rollers and looks to have seen a lot of play would be interesting to know where it has been.

Erv Niehaus

Litchfield, MN, USA
Post  Posted 21 Jul 2022 7:07 am    

I've never seen a Sho~Bud that messed up. Whoa!
Erv

Ricky Davis

Bertram, Texas USA
Post  Posted 21 Jul 2022 7:48 am    

Arrow

Last edited by Ricky Davis on 22 Jul 2022 9:27 am; edited 1 time in total

Johnny Cox

Williamsom WVA, raised in Nashville TN, Lives in Hallettsville Texas
Post  Posted 21 Jul 2022 8:34 am    

A major project.

Ken Pippus

Langford, BC, Canada
Post  Posted 21 Jul 2022 9:10 am    

And these guys are being polite.

Steve Waltz

USA
Post  Posted 21 Jul 2022 9:58 am    

I had a guitar of that same vintage painted that color over the original finish. It came from the mid-west. It was a lot of work to remove because of how much paint was used. Looking back, it might have been fun to just leave it alone.

The comments might make you think it's hopeless, it's not. If you are just starting, there is a lot of steel playing you can learn on that guitar. Obviously it worked well enough for someone else to bother altering it for looks and sound which they wouldn't do if they couldn't play it. It is more limited than a modern guitar but you have it so make the most of it.