The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Jeff's Uni Tuning
Sonny Jenkins

Texas Masonic Retirement Center,,,Arlington Tx
Post  Posted 19 Jul 2022 7:30 am    

Well,,I've just been shown a set up chart from Jeffran of a tuning set up that is different from the one I've been using for 35+ years. Several differences but the one that stands out is that this one does NOT have the chromatic D# second string lower capability? On mine the RKR lowers 4 and 8 to Eb and 2 (D#) to C#,,,the one he showed me does not lower D#. I know Jeff really used that chromatic 9th tone in all of his C6 teaching material,,,and he always emphatically insisted that uni did not loose anything significantly from C6,,,,but to loose that chromatic 9th tone would seem pretty significant.

Mike Selecky

BrookPark, Ohio
Post  Posted 20 Jul 2022 7:42 am    

When Jeff first proposed his U12 version, the 2nd string full tone lower was not included on the RKR that lowers the 4 and 8 strings. Not sure, but maybe the original C6th 1st string "G" was more prevalent at the time, so the 1st string "F#" B6th equivalent on the U12 was already available.

Not sure if this article from 1979 is readable, but it shows Jeff's thoughts on the tuning:

Marco Schouten

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Post  Posted 20 Jul 2022 10:05 am    

That tuning was developed by Jan Visser of the Netherlands. It was demonstrated by a friend of Jan to Jeff. Jan was one of the first pedal steel players over here and has a huge knowledge of everything about the pedal steel guitar, chord construction, music theory etc.

Johnny Cox

Williamsom WVA, raised in Nashville TN, Lives in Hallettsville Texas
Post  Posted 20 Jul 2022 11:56 am