The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Sho-Bud Pro II - broken LKL bracket
David Taylor

Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Post  Posted 28 Jun 2022 9:58 am    

Hello all,

First, thanks for all of the great information in the archives here. I’m new to pedal steel, and this forum is a great resource for those of us who are just starting out. Hopefully I manage to learn a few things and can make myself useful to another newbie someday.

Like many folks, a problem has led to my first post. I guess I got a little carried away with LKL on my old Sho-Bud Pro II and pushed it too hard. I heard a pop and the lever began to move freely without engaging the shaft. I can see where the lever attaches to a bracket that, in turn, attaches to the shaft. I think the problem is where the bracket meets the shaft. The shaft is about .3 inches in diameter.

I did some archive searches and found some references to some replacement brackets for hex shafts. Although my Sho-Bud has hex shafts for most part, this one appears to be a smooth shaft. I am thinking the brackets for the lever and the pull rod were welded to the shaft, as one part, but I’m not sure.

I think I may need something like the part in the top of this photo to replace the shaft and bracket: https://psgparts.com/Shaft-Cross-Round-Early-Pro-Series-125-204.htm but those are out of stock at PSG Parts. I’m also not sure how the bracket for the pull rod would attach to that shaft.

I added a photo at the end of this post with an arrow pointing to the place where the lever now spins freely on the shaft, as well as a photo that’s zoomed out a bit so you can see where the lever sits. I also pulled the piece out and took a photo of it sitting by itself. You can see where the two connecting brackets are welded to the shaft somehow. The one with the lever is the one that now spins freely. Please let me know if different photos or information would help explain the problem.