The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Microphone - Why it is needed
Eric Ibarra

Tyler, Texas, USA
Post  Posted 27 Jun 2022 12:24 pm    

Hello,

I am new to recording at home. I am currently making of a list of all the equipment I need. I have a good idea of what is going on but I did have one question:

Why are the microphones needed to be placed in front of the amp and into the interface? If you are connecting your amp to the interface, wouldn't that record the pedal steel's sound? The same way if an acoustic guitar was hooked up to the amp and connected to the interface.

Thank you,
Eric

Howard Parker

Maryland
Post  Posted 27 Jun 2022 1:10 pm    

Your question is not quite clear to me however, here's a broad answer(s).

Some folks prefer to mic the amp to get the amps unique tonal character.

Some amps have "line outputs" , enabling you to go amp out==>interface in. Many amps lack this feature.

Some players prefer to bypass the amp entirely going directly from the guitar's pickup to interface.

There are many other variations as well.

Hope this helps.

hp

Ian Rae

Redditch, England
Post  Posted 27 Jun 2022 2:22 pm    

I like the sound I get plugging my amp line out into the interface directly, so no mic necessary. But as Howard says, sometimes the sound coming from the speaker cone is more suitable. It all depends. Some sort of mic is useful to have around, for instance if you want to make audible notes of what you're doing.

Jim Fogle

North Carolina, Winston-Salem, USA
Post  Posted 27 Jun 2022 5:32 pm    

Both the amplifier and the speaker cabinet are important components that create the sound.