The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Marshall amp for pedal steel?
Dave Zirbel

Sebastopol, CA USA
Post  Posted 2 Jun 2022 6:44 pm    

Just curious if anyone uses a Marshall, like an ‘80’s JCM Lead in particular, and what your thoughts are about them. I have very little experience or knowledge with them. I did use a backline Marshall amp for steel at a battle of the bands show back in the ‘90’s (at the Cactus Club in San Jose California) and thought it was a little too crunchy, but that may have been because of the speakers…
Thanks

Richard Sinkler

aka: Rusty Strings -- Missoula, Montana
Post  Posted 3 Jun 2022 3:44 am    

I played through a Marshall stack once, don't remember the model, but it was the full stack. Only played one set through it, and it was horrible. Couldn't get a decent undistorted tone out of it. But again, I only had ~45 minutes to play with it.

K Maul

Hadley, NY/Hobe Sound, FL
Post  Posted 3 Jun 2022 5:15 am    

Bought a 50w tube head. I tried it. Hated it. Don’t like playing through a Boogie either.
Kevin Maul: Airline, Beard, Clinesmith, Decophonic, Evans, Excel, Fender, Fluger, Gibson, Hilton, Ibanez, Justice, K+K, Live Strings, MOYO, National, Oahu, Peterson, Quilter, Rickenbacher, Sho~Bud, Supro, TC, Ultimate, VHT, Williams, X-otic, Yamaha, ZKing.

Ethan Shaw

Texas, USA
Post  Posted 3 Jun 2022 11:25 am    

I've tried it a couple of times, and it sounded super thin and terrible. That was with a fender, though. Also, back then I didn't utilize the tone control very much. Maybe if you rolled it way down.

Dave Zirbel

Sebastopol, CA USA
Post  Posted 3 Jun 2022 12:20 pm    

Thanks guys…I guess it was kind of a dumb question, especially since no one talks about it here and I’ve never seen anyone using them! 😂 I have an opportunity to get a head and half stack real cheap…

Last edited by Dave Zirbel on 4 Jun 2022 6:17 am; edited 1 time in total

Steve Lipsey

Portland, Oregon, USA