The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Question about National square neck Tricone nut spacing?
Ryan Matzen

Wisconsin, USA
Post  Posted 15 May 2022 7:09 pm    

Hi,

The center two strings on my vintage square neck Tricone are spaced slightly wider at the nut from each other than the other strings (you can see this in the photo that I have provided). I have seen this spacing on quite a number of vintage Tricones. Maybe it was done in order to help keep the strings from rubbing the inside of the headstock? Anyway, since I am still very new to this, I was wondering if the slightly wider space between these two strings might cause an issue when attempting to play certain slants in tune? Or, is this really not an issue when playing early Hawaiian/hot jazz music in a High A Bass tuning? I already had this guitar to two separate guitar shops in order to have a new nut made. Unfortunately, both shops did unacceptable jobs and ended up refunding me. This left me without my guitar for months. I am trying to figure out if I should try another shop, buy some new nut files and do it myself, or if I can just leave it as is.

Thanks for your help!

Last edited by Ryan Matzen on 27 Jun 2022 6:46 pm; edited 3 times in total

Glenn Wilde

California, USA
Post  Posted 15 May 2022 7:41 pm    

You could put a metal nut riser like a Kamiki or Manaloff on it if it really bugs you. I have them on my '30s Oahu square necks and they work great, even period correct. I would just play it like that myself, I've had much worse.

Ryan Matzen

Wisconsin, USA
Post  Posted 15 May 2022 9:12 pm    

Glenn Wilde wrote:
You could put a metal nut riser like a Kamiki or Manaloff on it if it really bugs you. I have them on my '30s Oahu square necks and they work great, even period correct. I would just play it like that myself, I've had much worse.

Hi Glenn,

Thanks for the input.