The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Best reasonably priced mic for recording steel?
John Sims

Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Post  Posted 31 Jan 2022 1:08 pm    

Hi Guys,

I just got a Behringer AI for Christmas and have been learning how to use it and tried to record my first steel song w/backing track on Cakewalk (which I am still learning). The steel sounds flat, no lows... I don't want to invest in preamps, EQ's, etc. I have the Behringer UMC-204HD fed from my Nashville 1000 amp line out. The amp EQ controls don't seem to make that much of a difference. Is there a good mic to use that anyone would recommend instead of using the line out from the amp? Is the issue with me not knowing how to set up the EQ in Cakewalk properly? TY for the time to reply.

John

Steelin' is a way of life!

1997 Carter U-12 Double Body-Natural Birdseye Maple-8p/5k, Peavey Nashville 1000 Amp, Goodrich L10K Vol. Pedal, Boss DD-3 Delay, Boss CE-5 Chorus, Behringer UMC-204HD Audio Interface, AKAI MPK Mini MK3 Professional Midi Keyboard/Controller, Gretsch Bobtail Resonator, Fender Banjo, Rondo SX Lap Steel (C6), DIY Lap Steel (Open D), a few Mojo Hand Cigar Box Guitars (MojoHandGuitars.com).

K Maul

Hadley, NY/Hobe Sound, FL
Post  Posted 31 Jan 2022 2:13 pm    

Senheiser e609 is a very good mic for amps and even works well for dobro or acoustic guitar. It’s low priced, nothing fancy but I’ve found it very useful for recording or live applications.

Kevin Maul: Airline, Beard, Clinesmith, Decophonic, Evans, Excel, Fender, Fluger, Gibson, Hilton, Ibanez, Justice, K+K, Live Strings, MOYO, National, Oahu, Peterson, Quilter, Rickenbacher, Sho~Bud, Supro, TC, Ultimate, VHT, Williams, X-otic, Yamaha, ZKing.

John Sims

Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Post  Posted 31 Jan 2022 2:35 pm    

Thanks!

John