The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Hearing Aid recommendation?
Bob Stone

Gainesville, FL, USA
Post  Posted 3 Jan 2022 11:41 am    

Hi,

I am looking for up-to-date recommendations on hearing aids. I have been wearing ReSound Linx2 LS761 aids for about 4 years. Recently I lost one, so am researching replacements. I'm even considering purchasing one or two used aids on eBay.

I never have been happy with the sound of music--recorded music is even worse than live music--using these hearing aids, and am wondering if there have been any advances in technology in recent years that improve performance in that area. For the last couple of years I would take my hearing aids out when playing my steel by myself or with the band. Many of my friends who wear hearing aids, mostly acoustic musicians, do the same. The highs simply sound too bright, dry and digital.

If you have any recent experience with newer hearing aids, please share it.

Thanks so much.

Tony Glassman

The Great Northwest
Post  Posted 3 Jan 2022 12:22 pm    

I gave up on hearing aids for playing music. They’re designed for one thing only….hearing speech. They don’t handle volume well, nuances are lost & tone becomes clipped or brittle. Feedback can be a problem as well.

Instead, I went for something actually designed to reproduce music……IEMs. I bought a pair off mid-price level Shure IEMs for about $450, which work great. I can use them out of the PA, the headphone jack on my amp or out through the amp DI into a Beringer mini-mixer ($99) so I can mix/EQ to taste.

The resultant experience is much improved over either using my hearing aids or using nothing. IMO, trying to use hearing aids to replicate musical instrument tone is tantamount to bringing a knife to a gunfight.

Bob Stone

Gainesville, FL, USA
Post  Posted 3 Jan 2022 2:21 pm