The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Advice for an old new student?
Jon Snyder

Nevada, USA
Post  Posted 14 Nov 2021 7:21 pm    

I'm new to the forum and thinking of taking up pedal steel. My 6 string guitar is idle as my left hand does not fret as well as it used to. But I never was a finger picker either so that makes me pretty much a total beginner.
As a complete beginner I'm looking for advice on selection of a guitar. At 74 there aren't that many shopping days 'til Christmas as Jack Nicholson said. Some questions come up after reading the info on this forum and the six magazines I bought with membership. I think a single 10 with 3 pedals and 4 levers seems to be about as much I will likely absorb in the foreseeable future. Once set up in the house it will be there until I assume room temperature. That said:

Is a double body with a single neck and a pad a good idea? Or just a single neck/no pad single body?
Is a metal neck or wood neck preferred? Only saw that option on one manufacturer.

Even if there were a supply in Nevada to go try out, I wouldn't know the difference. So ballparking it, I see the following benchmarks. A Mullen Discovery $2,500 -- Williams S10 $3,500 -- MSA Legend S10 $4,800 not counting freight or options. All new pricing and they all look good to a novice. That's quite a price spread, but maybe not.

Secondly, private in-person lessons (may not be available) or online courses?

Thirdly, amplifier choice.
$1,499.00 Quilter Labs Travis Toy 15 Steel Guitar Amplifier
$1,099.99 Fender Tone Master Twin Reverb 100W 2x12 Celestion NEO Creamback Amplifier
$ 600.00 Used Fender Steel King

Any advice anyone cares to share would be greatly appreciated.

Bill Moore

Manchester, Michigan
Post  Posted 15 Nov 2021 5:11 am    

here is a guitar for sale on the forum that you might consider:
https://bb.steelguitarforum.com/viewtopic.php?t=374337
here is another:
https://bb.steelguitarforum.com/viewtopic.php?t=374537