The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Amps?
Todd Snelgrove

Newfoundland, Canada
Post  Posted 9 Nov 2021 12:20 pm    

I'm a lifelong guitarist and a total newb pedal steel player, but it looks like I've landed a gig. So I'm thinking about getting an amp. I have a Peavey Classic 30 tube amp for guitar gigs but I think it's overkill for the PSG. I practise the PSG through a little beginner's Fender 10w practise amp but c'mon now.

Someone up the street is selling a Vox AC4C1, it's a little 4w tube amp that I think might be nearly almost kinda perfect (as long as I get a reverb pedal to go along with it)? At least that's the line I'm thinking of trying on my wife (without mentioning the reverb pedal add-on, of course).

Anyway, what do y'all play through, and what kind of advice do you have for an amp-searching newbie like me? To put thing into perspective: I'm playing a Sho-Bud Maverick student guitar and I suspect I will be for the next long-ish little while at least (my wife and I already talked about the possibility of an upgrade).

Rick Abbott

Indiana, USA
Post  Posted 9 Nov 2021 12:30 pm    

The common practice for steel amps is to have a lot of headroom, but it really depends on your situation how big that needs to be. A classic 30 would work for living room volume up to acoustic band stage volume. I use a 50 watt peavey solid state amp for rehearsals and some gigs. I have a twin reverb for bigger stuff/outside. 12 and 15 inch speakers are preferable to most players, but a low volume 10 is cool.

The classic 30 will work on the clean channel, scoop some mids if it's too crunchy. I like mids, and sometimes use a tweed deluxe for that reason. 10 watts is fine for purely acoustic living room stuff. All just my opinion.
Sho~Bud D-10 Professional #7962
Remington T-8, Wakarusa 5e3 clone
1953 Stromberg-Carlson AU-35

Karl Paulsen

Chicago
Post  Posted 9 Nov 2021 12:50 pm    

The 4w amp would probably be nearly useless for gigging.