The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  How to Choose A Thumb Pick for Size?
Rick Abbott

Indiana, USA
Post  Posted 4 Oct 2021 7:36 am    

I have decided to try a few other thumb picks other than the blue Herco I have used since I started playing. My big interest is in a better pick for dobro playing. I want a pick I can dig in with. Blue Chip keeps being mentioned on reso forums.

The blue Herco fits me really nicely and never slips around etc. I'll probably always use them for PSG. What "size" are they? I want to get the right one the first time when I order other brands, such as the Blue Chip, or Pro Pick, or whatever. I suspect I'm a "medium."

Thanks for any thoughts, or advice.
Sho~Bud D-10 Professional #7962
Remington T-8, Wakarusa 5e3 clone
1953 Stromberg-Carlson AU-35

Matt Berg

Pennsylvania, USA
Post  Posted 4 Oct 2021 9:21 am    

Don't know if I'd agree that a blue herco is medium. They fit me without being very snug, but I take a large in dunlop and fred kellys, and a large zookie is too small for me.

Also, fwiw, before you go sinking 40 bucks into a pick, I'd suggest that you try out some large heavy poly picks from fred kelly or dunlop. They're a lot stiffer than the herco, and more budget friendly. Personally, due to my tendency to lose things, I have avoided expensive picks.

Gene Tani

Pac NW
Post  Posted 4 Oct 2021 11:15 am    

Herco's only come in 1 size, which I call loose... https://www.jimdunlop.com/herco-thumbpicks/

BC thumbpicks are often available used on teh banjo hangout forum. I have a few, i use them by themselves, no fingerpicks. I would also try the ones that American made banjo co. makes, tortoise colored or clown barfs, they're pretty easy to open up the band with hot water and pliers (but you can't make them tighter that way)

http://www.americanmadebanjo.com/index.php?cPath=23