The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  C6 Neck Theory Questions
William Smith

Manhattan, Kansas
Post  Posted 1 Sep 2021 11:38 am    

New guy here. Proud new owner of a HWP Mullen from the forum. I'm new to playing steel. I tried playing years ago but it didn't stick.

I found a violin transcription of the "Little Rock Getaway" jazz tune with the chords listed as well. I just tried barreling through it and trying to figure out where to play it on the neck. I have found it difficult to find a good place to play a full Dom 7 chord, which sounds crazy as it is the most common extended chord imaginable. I have even programmed an Excel file that shows all of the scale tones of a standard Emmons pedal configuration up and down the neck. I might be missing something because I am not seeing it.

I found, through barreling through, that I was using pedals 5 & 6 to create the diminished 7th chord shape across the strings and playing a E diminished chord triad and calling that a C7 for practical purposes. It seems like the other options are to lever-raise the high A string to Bb and play there, or mash pedal 8 and make the open Amin7 into a A7. These other options seem bulky. Or, maybe these are the ways the PSG is played and I imagined something else. I do realize that the RKR lever raise of the A string and pedal 5 & 6 give you the same triad on strings 4, 5 & 6 one fret apart, but that right knee right thing seems backwards to me at this point in this little adventure.