The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Pedal Steel Maintenace
William Smith

Manhattan, Kansas
Post  Posted 3 Aug 2021 9:27 am    

Hello, I am new to the Forum. I am also new to PSG. I tried playing earlier in life but my focus strayed toward other instruments (fiddle and guitar). This time I think I can devote the proper amount of energy to such an endeavor.

I just purchased a nice D-10 because the Western Swing/Jazz C6 stuff is more my interest. I want this instrument to last and to play properly for as long as possible.

I have noticed that the folks on this forum are quite knowledgeable and friendly, so I thought I would post this in an attempt to gather some knowledge:

1. What sort of regular maintenance goes is to keeping a PSG in top performance condition?

2. What are the parts that wear out first, generally? For those parts, what mitigation efforts, if any, can be performed?

3. If a particular part is no longer serviceable, and the part is not readily available from the manufacturer, then what resources exist to obtain fabricated replacement parts?

I have already got some very good information on some of these questions from Forum members, but I would like to hear what others says to add to this. I also believe that others may find this useful.

Thank you in advance for your consideration.

Larry Dering

Missouri, USA
Post  Posted 3 Aug 2021 5:37 pm    

It would help if you posted what make steel you have. There is plenty of information already posted on maintenance if you do a search. Manufacturers that are no longer in business makes parts availability difficult. A few outside machinist make parts for a few models. A Google search will reveal a couple. All moving parts will wear in time. Some require lubrication and some are permanently lubed. It varies by maker.

Larry Dering

Missouri, USA
Post  Posted 3 Aug 2021 5:51 pm    

Mickey Adams has a DVD on maintenance. He is a forum member. His email jetdrivr@me.com

Jim Pitman