The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  playing as meditation, and earworms
Brian Evans

Nova Scotia, Canada
Post  Posted 30 Jul 2021 5:49 am    

My backstory is that i have a lot of nerve damage in my left hand and I can't actually play much any longer. I can't physically hold the steel for long without cramping and pain, and ditto I can't play fretted guitar for more than a few minutes. So in my mind I'm still a musician, in my hands less so.

Anyway, I tuned up a lap steel in Dobro G, to see what happened. I tried to play some tunes, but they all turned into Star Spangled Banner, which is a fine tune and very easy to play in that tuning, but weird that it kept coming out when I was playing but not thinking, in Zen mode. So I retuned back to my normal, which I call Em7/G, and is L-H EGDGBD. I play a I/VI/IV/V chord change, which lays down really easy in that tuning (if you play a minor IV chord) as C-Am-Fm-G, and boom, all I can play for the next 10 minutes is variations on "Sleepwalk", which is fine, but man, what an earworm! I thought this was kind of funny, is all... Not really thinking, just Zen-playing, and everything is "Sleepwalk". Sleep-walking through Sleepwalk, so to speak. That's it, that's the post... Smile

Allan Revich

Victoria, BC
Post  Posted 30 Jul 2021 7:26 am    

It’s nice to hear that despite physical barriers, you are still able get pleasure from playing. Making music is a special kind of joy.
https://papadafoe.com/lap-steel-tuning-database

Dom Franco

Beaverton, OR, 97007
Post  Posted 30 Jul 2021 8:26 am    

I believe that music is a gift from God, and it has healing medical, and emotional power. Imagine a world without music!

I and millions of others (musicians and/or just listeners) receive great joy from music every day... especially steel guitar music.