The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  How Do You Angle Your Guitar On Stage?
Chris Bauer

Nashville, TN USA
Post  Posted 22 Jul 2021 7:51 am    

I've always been surprised by how many steel players set up facing the audience straight on. I've always preferred setting up at an angle, facing towards the center of the stage at least a little, so that I can maintain better visual contact with the rest of the band.

Is there an advantage to setting up facing straight ahead that I've never considered?

Jerry Overstreet

Louisville Ky
Post  Posted 22 Jul 2021 8:07 am    

No reason except for symmetry that I know of. It just seems to be the best look. Sometimes key players in particular sit at 90 degrees. I guess straight angles are the most pleasing to look at.

I've been sitting at an angle like you suggest for several years now for better visuals to the rest of the stage. I did it the usual straight on way for years.

I remember seeing John Anderson's steel player Glenn Rieuf doing this years back too.

Andrew Goulet

Post  Posted 22 Jul 2021 11:07 am    

I'm usually at the back, next to the drummer/bass amp, facing straight out, or angled toward center stage. I would feel really strange being right up front.

Larry Dering

Missouri, USA
Post  Posted 22 Jul 2021 11:24 am    

I often sit starring at my amp and wondering why I don't sound like Buddy Emmons. Ha! Usually facing the audience straight on. I try to make myself obvious so more people will know what a steel guitar is. Our keyboard player is blind so no advantage there and the drummer is lead singer and at rear center.

Jack Hargraves

Missouri, USA
Post  Posted 22 Jul 2021 11:38 am    

I always set up straight on

Jerry Overstreet

Louisville Ky
Post  Posted 22 Jul 2021 11:45 am    

Andrew Goulet wrote:
I'm usually at the back, next to the drummer/bass amp, facing straight out, or angled toward center stage. I would feel really strange being right up front.