The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Old Russ-ler legs! Please help!
Michael Munday

England, UK
Post  Posted 18 Jul 2021 12:33 am    

Hi all! I'm really new to this world. I've bought an old Russ-ler (spelt like that), 12-string PSG. I love the sound of it - it's gorgeous. But the legs are locked tight (front) or knackered and fall apart (back). Clearly I need new legs, but I don't know what size to order (thread/plug size). Can anyone help? Here are a couple of pics. Thank you! Michael

Peter Harris

South Australia, Australia
Post  Posted 18 Jul 2021 2:22 am    

Someone much more knowledgable than me will probably sort you out, but in case they don't, you could do worse than buying one of these....

https://www.amazon.com/Grip-Thread-Pitch-Gauge-SAE/dp/B004ROIU2A

...but since you've already got a mobile sample, I would be tempted to take it to a plumbing warehouse (or the like) and get them to match the thread....then at least you know what to specify.

HTH

Peter

manny escobar

portsmouth,r.i. usa
Post  Posted 18 Jul 2021 5:36 am    

Being a clever machinist with precision eyeballs, it looks like a 3/4-10 INCH thread.

Peter Harris

South Australia, Australia
Post  Posted 18 Jul 2021 6:30 am    

I neeeaarly said that, but I'm not such a clever machinist... Laughing ...and these daze my 73 year old eyeballs frequently deceive me when I need them most... Crying or Very sad

Jon Light

Saugerties, NY
Post  Posted 18 Jul 2021 6:47 am    

There are some Russ-ler owners here so I expect you will eventually get a good and positive answer. Meanwhile, you can know that the modern 'standard' that will fit a large majority of steels is 1/2" x 13 thread so you can be certain that a standard leg will not work for you.

Skip Edwards

LA,CA
Post  Posted 18 Jul 2021 7:04 am    

I suggest you get in touch with Chuck Back at Desert Rose steels. He may know...

Donny Hinson

Glen Burnie, Md. U.S.A.
Post  Posted 18 Jul 2021 9:14 am