The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Fender Champion 50XL
Ken Mizell

Lakeland, Florida, 33809, USA
Post  Posted 8 Jun 2021 12:40 pm    

Last week I bought a new Fender Champion 50XL Amp. I really like this amp, a lot. It was half the cost of a well used Nashville 112. I've owned a N112, and I can appreciate them, but this amp is something to consider.

50 Watts, with a 12” Celestion “Midnight 60” speaker. Aux input jack. Headphone jack.

Size - 17 1/4" W x 17 1/4" H x 9" D. 19 lbs.

2 channels. Channel 1 is a clean Twin Reverb sound. Channel 2 has several amp variations (modeling). Several effects.

I'm really liking the sound of this amp. Full spectrum of sound. Nice lows too.

As for me, I'm just an intermediate student, trying to catch up to where I was when I sold my previous steel in 2013. It will be a while before I'm qualified to be sitting in with someone, or a band. So, I have no reason to be buying expensive gear, and I really don't have that kind of cash to spare these days. However, I don't want to buy junk, and regret it. After looking at various kinds of amps online, I decided to buy the Fender Champion 50XL. I think a lot of new players or people in my position would fare a lot better by buying cheaper, but adequate, gear. I use a used Korg WT-12 tuner from the early to mid 80's. Great tuner, and it still works very well. It cost me $30.00 on eBay. I had one back in the 80's but sold it when I had to sell my steel for some needed cash at the time. I use a vintage Dekley Low Boy volume pedal, which I cleaned up and refurbished. I also had one of these in the 80's, but found another here on the forum last year. It works very well too, and it is the lowest of volume pedals I've ever seen. I still have the Dekley pac-a-seat my parents bought me for Christmas in 1981. It squeaks a bit, but it still works, and has been re-upholstered. Looks new. I also use a new tractor seat style drum throne, which works perfect for me, at 1/2 the