The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  My Tom Pettingill Lap Steel
Mike Ormsby

Ontario, Canada
Post  Posted 23 May 2021 6:03 pm    

I am relatively new to lap steels....and have posted about some of my adventures and possible misadventures into the world of lap steels.

First I am a guitarist (mainly Strats and Teles) but my left (fretting) hand is not as strong as was when I was 40 years younger (hell what part of me is lol)....I have a touch of arthritis and nerve damage caused by a bad beak to my left hand....and even though I cannot play as quickly as I once did (although I might be slower I'm smarter and play more efficiently)....but I know I cannot play hurt either as much as I'd like to....so I decided to switch over in part at least to the lap steel.

Luckily I have a good friend who has helped guide me through the beginning steps I've taken....and sometimes I have a habit of running instead of walking....so my first lap steel was a 1956 National student model (a Princess I believe it is called) bought only a while ago....same friend turned me onto the Steel Guitar Forum....and I started reading through not only recent posts but past ones too.

I used to build wood canvas and birch bark canoes....so I know quality in craftmanship when I see it....and the work involved. I love great looking as well as unique instruments to play, such as my custom built birch bark Telecaster:

So as I went through the Steel Guitar Forum posts, I came across the name of the late Tom Pettingill....and saw photos of his work....especially on his still up Facebook page. I was entirely blown away by Tom's work....and really wanted one if I could get one. So I posted in Wanted To Buy that I was looking for a Tom Pettingill lap steel. I got a response and was able to purchase one of Tom's steels....which is my absolute favourite lap steel. And this steel has had an interesting history as I have found out from further research just on this forum.