The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Greetings and sharing first steel purchase
Nathan Retherford

Oklahoma, USA
Post  Posted 26 Apr 2021 10:42 am    

Hello all,

I've been lurking here for a while and finally get to join the conversation. Last weekend I was unexpectedly given the opportunity to purchase my first steel and I jumped on it. My boss, who plays steel, wanted to buy a steel that was only being sold as a package deal with this Sho Bud and Randall Steel man. Long story short I fronted the cash and have my very first steel. I've been playing lap steel for a couple of years waiting for a good deal to come along. I'm not sure exactly what model the steel is. I am told it was a 6139 that had been modified by Sho Bud to be closer to their Pro model. Any ideas? The more I dig into Sho Bud identification the more daunting it seems! I'm a long time guitarist/drummer/collector of gear but I'm entirely new to the steel world. I'm excited to be a part of the forum and appreciate the resource this forum is. I've tried to read all the stickies. Hope I'm not violating any rules by posting all these pictures. Thanks for having me and looking forward to being a part of the group.

Bands:
Dire Gnome
Heavy Drifters

Jeff Mead

London, England
Post  Posted 26 Apr 2021 10:51 am    

I've got a 6139 but the undercarriage is a bit different from yours. Lovely guitar though.

Try posting in the thread that is a sticky at the top of the page - there's a chap on the forum who has access to the Sho~Bud factory records and may be able to give more info from the serial number (stamped into the wood and also the frame underneath at the tuner end). They usually have a paper label with the person who inspected it etc.

Kelcey ONeil

Sevierville, TN
Post  Posted 26 Apr 2021 5:07 pm