The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  My Apologies To Hartley Peavey
Dustin Rigsby

Parts Unknown, Ohio
Post  Posted 23 Apr 2021 6:22 am    

When I started playing guitar in the 1980’s, I used a lot of so so solid state amps, even a rack mount guitar amp, until I got into tube snobbery. I never looked back, until now. I was pretty impressed by the sound of the fender tone master but that thing has a steep price tag. Recently I came across a “blind taste test” video shootout between a fender blues jr. and a Peavey Bandit. Every tone I swore was a tube amp....you guessed it...was the venerable Peavey Bandit. I feel like I did when I discovered that Santa Clause wasn’t real ! My apologies to Mr. Peavey for being so dismissive of his trans tube tech !

Erv Niehaus

Litchfield, MN, USA
Post  Posted 23 Apr 2021 7:23 am    

I've never been disappointed in a Peavey amp and I've got a bunch. Very Happy
Erv

Dustin Rigsby

Parts Unknown, Ohio
Post  Posted 23 Apr 2021 7:42 am    

Yeah Erv, I’ve always liked the NV400 for steel. I just dismissed their ss offerings. I think I just got caught up in the “only tube amps are worthy” mentality for a while. I just couldn’t believe how good the bandit sounded in a blind test. Just blew me away.

Jerry Overstreet

Louisville Ky
Post  Posted 23 Apr 2021 8:21 am    

There's a local guitar slinger that plays one of the Special models. He is a dynamite Tele player and he leans on it pretty hard. The first time I heard him, I would have sworn it was a tube amp. Of course the Special is a pretty stout little amp, but I was really surprised at the sound and output.

Of course much of the sound comes from the player and their attack and approach, I know.