The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Mounting Car Nameplates to Pedal Steels?
John McClung

Olympia WA, USA
Post  Posted 10 Apr 2021 11:55 am    

On my backburner of to-do projects is mounting metal automobile emblems/nameplates to the front of a pedal steel cabinet.

I have obtained several, most come with metal spikes that fit into auto body holes for that mounting purpose.

Anyone have clever ideas for mounting my nameplates: without cutting off the spikes; that don't damage the psg cabinet; are easily interchangeable (possibly using a velcro or other clever mounting system)?

As a professional graphic designer I've always lamented the rather poor logo designs of virtually all pedal steel brands, and would love to add a beautiful and classy ID badge, even if it's not the steel's actual brand name! See photos of the Volaré (Plymouth, 1976) emblem I have to work with. I also have a Skylark (Oldsmobile) nameplate, and hope to eventually get an Avanti nameplate, that car being my all-time favorite American auto.

I feel the Emmons logo is the best we've ever seen, primarily because its chevron below the rather generic script logo at least gives it an identifiable SHAPE, easily recognized from any distance, in videos, etc.

While we're at it, please nominate other psg logotypes you feel stand out that I may have overlooked, and include photos please.

Also, anyone know a reliable vendor that can create chromed metal or plastic nameplates? That Avanti nameplate may be hard to source, as it was only produced by Studebaker in 1963 and 1964.

Clyde Mattocks

Kinston, North Carolina, USA
Post  Posted 10 Apr 2021 12:13 pm    

When Al Collins was building his Capri pedal steels, he used Chevy Caprice badges and cut off the the last C and E.

Andrew Goulet

Post  Posted 10 Apr 2021 12:19 pm    

I love the Marlen logo!Smile

Chris Lucker

Los Angeles, California USA
Post  Posted 10 Apr 2021 12:20 pm