The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Reply to topic
Author Topic:  George L pickup comparisons
Bradley Harper

United Kingdom
Post  Posted 9 Apr 2021 7:23 am    

Hi guys,

Could anybody chart out the George Ls, bright to dark? I’m pretty sure the E-66 sits at the top, and the PFII at the bottom. However, I’m wondering more about:-

1. Where the EON sits. Ohms identical to E-66 but I’ve heard it’s far darker due to the blade.
2. TW v PFI. Again, same ohms, but wondering what the differences are.

P.S. I know that ohms is not everything. E.g. copper thickness and amount of windings etc.

Thanks guys

ajm

Los Angeles
Post  Posted 9 Apr 2021 10:14 am    

You might want to add another pickup to the list: 10-1.

I'm no expert, but I tried both in my Carter S10.
I made a recording of them to compare.
To my ears the 10-1 was not as bright, and maybe had a little "more" of everything, more "cholesterol" if that makes any sense.

I kept the 10-1.

Bradley Harper

United Kingdom
Post  Posted 9 Apr 2021 10:38 am    

I spoke with George Ls today and they told me that the difference between the PF1 and the TW is that the TW has a stainless steel blade, whereas the PF1 has an iron blade. So, I guess a chart would look like this... starting with the warmest...

PFII
10-1
PF1
TW
EON
E-66

Jerry Overstreet

Louisville Ky
Post  Posted 9 Apr 2021 12:56 pm    

Bradley Harper wrote:
I spoke with George Ls today and they told me that the difference between the PF1 and the TW is that the TW has a stainless steel blade, whereas the PF1 has an iron blade. So, I guess a chart would look like this... starting with the warmest...

PFII
10-1
PF1
TW
EON
E-66

In case you didn't see it, there is a previous thread that covers 10-1, Eon, and E66 if that's any help.

https://bb.steelguitarforum.com/viewtopic.php?t=248049

The PF and TW models are not included however.

Dean Holman

Branson MO
Post  Posted 13 Apr 2021 10:35 pm