The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  What exactly does a compressor pedal do to your sound
Steven Schwartz

Longview Washington, USA
Post  Posted 4 Mar 2021 2:17 pm    

I'm a total newbie and I cant really make sense of any of the descriptions of what a compressor does.

Thank you

Gary Watkins

Bristol, VA
Post  Posted 4 Mar 2021 2:27 pm     Re: What exactly does a compressor pedal do to your sound

Steven Schwartz wrote:
I'm a total newbie and I cant really make sense of any of the descriptions of what a compressor does.

Thank you

Check out this link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6LwSJmdxjiI

Noah Miller

Rocky Hill, CT
Post  Posted 4 Mar 2021 2:50 pm    

A compressor squashes volume peaks, thus evening out the volume. They're accompanied by a boost circuit to raise the overall level back up.

Richard Sinkler

aka: Rusty Strings -- Missoula, Montana
Post  Posted 4 Mar 2021 4:16 pm    

Ruins it in my opinion.

Steven Schwartz

Longview Washington, USA
Post  Posted 4 Mar 2021 4:22 pm    

Thanks everybody. That UTube was really helpful for understanding.

George Redmon

Muskegon & Detroit Michigan.
Post  Posted 4 Mar 2021 5:15 pm    

I love my Compressor. Either on my Tele, or any steel i'm playing. It's an "always-on" "must-have" if you play anything besides country. I am currently using the Ohmless Yara v2 Optical Compressor.

https://ohmless-pedals.reverbsites.com/listing/ohmless-pedals-yara-yara-v2/13847570

Part of my board.

Chris Brooks

Providence, Rhode Island
Post  Posted 5 Mar 2021 7:32 am    

Steven: my impression is that most steelers (including myself) don't use compressors. Guitar players do.

Steelers want to use the volume pedal and right hand attack to determine their sound--not a pedal that evens everything out.

Per Berner

Skövde, Sweden
Post  Posted 5 Mar 2021 7:59 am