The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Starting out with a PSG, what accessories should accompany?
Ryan Lunenfeld

Colorado, USA
Post  Posted 17 Jan 2021 8:03 pm    

So it looks like I will end up with a PSG shortly if all goes well. I've been playing lap steel for just a little bit since July 2020, and have some things. But after taking a while of getting accessories, some I wish I got a lot earlier!

I'm curious, what accessories should I get to accompany the PSG in anticipation?

So far I've figured(keeping it objective and then I'll put my subjectiveness following):

Volume Pedal
    Amp
    Effects
    Fingerpicks/thumbpick(s)
    Seat/stool
    Tuner
    Slide
    Tuning tool

On that, the PSG I'm looking at an EMCI D-10(not sure I need a second neck, but 2 necks are better than one, no?). I'm curious to how my current accessories will adapt to PSG:

Volume: the only volume pedal I've got so far is a Telray/Morley Volume Boost, and a Telray Power wah that I can use as a volume, but should I get something else? I've read Telonics are the go to... but they're a bit out of my budget unfortunately. How are the Lehle ones? I found one that is within my budget, but used. Should I be worried about replacing pots? Are the telrays good enough? Has anyone done photo-resister volume pedals like the Morleys?

Amp:... ok ok, I know this should be in the other forum(should the whole thing be on it?)...but thought I might as well include it. How relevant is Solid state vs tube. Amp wise I've got a Fender Blues Jr, a Blackheart Little Giant, Pignose, and a Gibson RET77 that I need to fix up a little. I was thinking selling one of the little tube guys and picking up a peavey nashville 400... is the change in tone that worth having one of these?

Effects:

What kind of pedals are most suited for PSG? My current little pedalboard is:

EQ: Boss GE-7, Dunlop Fuzzface Mini(germanium), Polymoon Meris, and a Ventris Dual Reverb