The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  How long does it take you to "warm up"?
Justin Myers

North Carolina, USA
Post  Posted 12 Jan 2021 5:15 pm    

I've been playing for about 6 years now, so I'm still relatively a newbie, but I try to practice almost every day. I find that it always takes me about 5-10 minutes to warm up my right hand. My left hand also needs to warm up some, but not near as much as my right. I find that after playing 5-10 minutes, my confidence, blocking, and accuracy on my right hand is substantially better than when I first sat down. It's not necessarily a big deal at home where I'm just practicing, but if I am playing a gig, I always hate those first 5 minutes of my playing haha Shocked

Just wondering if it is the same for some of you or if you ever get to a point to where you sit down and immediately can play confidently and cleanly. Do you guys have any tips on how to warm up before sitting down at the guitar?

I do know one thing that has helped me is to mentally practice while I'm away from the guitar by thinking about what intervals I can get on certain strings with differing bar, pedal, and lever combos. I jot them down on paper sometimes at work to test myself.

Thanks!

David LeBlanc

New Brunswick, Canada
Post  Posted 12 Jan 2021 7:15 pm    

Like you, I need a couple of songs to get warmed up.

Fred Treece

California, USA
Post  Posted 12 Jan 2021 7:48 pm     Re: How long does it take you t

Justin Myers wrote:

Just wondering if it is the same for some of you or if you ever get to a point to where you sit down and immediately can play confidently and cleanly. Do you guys have any tips on how to warm up before sitting down at the guitar?

I think real pros can. 50 years of playing guitar, 20 of that basically full-time, it never happened for me. Only four years into playing pedal steel, I don’t expect it to happen any time soon.