Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  One or many lap steels?
Ryan Lunenfeld

Colorado, USA
Post  Posted 23 Aug 2020 11:03 am    

Question for you all...

One or many lap steels?

Do you have one electric you love to death and use consistently, or multiple?

I ask because I recently started playing, but got the bug after researching, picked up 2 hawaiians, a 185 and an a22.

I love the a22, it's my go to. Not quite using the Hawaiians that much anymore because of this, and the 185 provides a different tonality I can't quite get with the a22.

Not sure having 4 electrics is overkill? I was thinking consolidating, and keeping the a22 around and trying to sell the other 3 to pick up a non electrified lap.

How do you all feel on this?

I don't really want to be a collector, and rather a practice, practice, enjoy, and play.

Nothing wrong with being a collector it keeps some of our greats in shape!

In addition to being a relatively new player, is it better to focus on one instrument and learn all it's intricacies before trying to use multiple?

Sorry for a possible super newb question! I'd appreciate any input!

Bill McCloskey

Nanuet, NY
Post  Posted 23 Aug 2020 11:09 am    

I currently own four single necks, two double necks, one triple neck and 3 dobros. They all get played. So, more . Consider this. We can’t walk into a store and play a bunch of lap steels. So the only way to see what is out there is too play a bunch of them and sell the ones you don’t like

Ryan Lunenfeld

Colorado, USA
Post  Posted 23 Aug 2020 11:13 am    

Bill McCloskey wrote:
I currently own four single necks, two double necks, one triple neck and 3 dobros. They all get played. So, more . Consider this. We can’t walk into a store and play a bunch of lap steels. So the only way to see what is our there is too play a bunch of them and sell the ones you don’t like