The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  What did learning how to play pedal steel like look for you?
Jordan Stern

Texas, USA
Post  Posted 11 Aug 2020 7:06 am    

Hello! I am writing my doctoral dissertation in music education on how pedal steel guitarists learn/acquire their art and craft. I am a drummer by trade (I play in the western swing band Billy Mata and the Texas Tradition), but I have been learning to play pedal steel as part of my dissertation.

I am working on my dissertation prospectus right now, and I have to choose (or at least make an educated guess at) the correct learning theory to use as a framework for my paper. If you wouldn't mind sharing a little bit about how you initially learned to play, and how you continue to refine your abilities, that would help me greatly as I start to figure out the specifics of how I will frame my paper.

Here are some guiding questions to consider...
- Have you ever taken lessons? If so, what did your teacher have you working on?
- What sort of frustrations did you run into as you learned?
- What role has both your local pedal steel community (if there is one) and the online forum community had in your learning journey?
- What is your process when you sit at the steel to learn new material?

FYI - I am still in the very early stages of crafting my dissertation, and none of these responses will be used in the paper itself (there is a whole institutional review process that has to happen before I can "officially" gather data). These responses will just help me get the process started. Thanks!

Bob Hoffnar

Austin, Tx
Post  Posted 11 Aug 2020 7:19 am    

How would you like for us to submit our personal learning trajectories ?

Jack Hanson

San Luis Valley, USA
Post  Posted 11 Aug 2020 7:19 am