The Steel Guitar Forum Store 

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Reply to topic
Author Topic:  Are sweetened tuning offsets wrt equal temperament?
Robert Fawcett

United Kingdom
Post  Posted 30 Jul 2020 1:56 am    

I'm new to this and experimenting with sweetened tunings.
I guess that sweetened tuning offsets are specified wrt equal temperament?
I can’t believe sweetened tuning offsets are specified wrt just intonation, because tuners do not all offer it, although part of my brain feels that would strictly make the most sense.
Thank you!

Jon Light

Saugerties, NY
Post  Posted 30 Jul 2020 4:16 am    

Yes. A tuning that indicates " -7 cents " is referencing the " 0 " of Equal Temperament.

" 7 cents flat of straight-up " is another wording of the same.

Michael Douchette

Gallatin, TN (deceased)
Post  Posted 30 Jul 2020 4:18 am    

And 7 cents flat is just plain flat. Period.

http://www.steelharp.com
http://www.thesessionplayers.com/douchette.html

(other things you can ask about here)
http://s117.photobucket.com/albums/o54/Steelharp/

Ian Rae

Redditch, England
Post  Posted 30 Jul 2020 9:12 am    

Michael Douchette wrote:
And 7 cents flat is just plain flat. Period.

No, it's relative. In just intonation a lot of notes are flat relative to equal temperament, but they sound in tune.

Equal temperament is just a way of distributing discord fairly.

Mike Vallandigham

Martinez, CA
Post  Posted 30 Jul 2020 12:16 pm    

I'v never really had a problem with steel sounding out of tune when tuned straight up, but I always drop the G# strings 3-4 cents. Seems to make it better.

Dan Kelly

Boston, MA
Post  Posted 30 Jul 2020 12:36 pm    

Oh Boy! Here we go again!!! Smile

Robert Fawcett

United Kingdom
Post  Posted 30 Jul 2020 1:58 pm    

Thank you folks!